Bailey Overstreet, Sports Reporter

Bailey Overstreet is leaving her purposeful mark in the media as a Sports Reporter.

She was born and raised in Tulsa, Oklahoma and she is a proud graduate of Oklahoma State University

Please provide a brief description of your profession, specialization, or business services that you offer. 

“I am a sports reporter in Dallas covering the Dallas Mavericks, Dallas Wings, SMU football and basketball.”

What inspired you to enter this profession, and how did you know it was your purpose in life? 

“I played basketball growing up, but I fell out of love after my senior year of high school. I struggled in school and didn’t know what I wanted to do. I was kind of lost. I was going through some personal things and honestly, I didn’t even know if I wanted to go to college.

“Fast forward, I attended OKSTATE and I had a friend that was two years older than me. She took me under her wing. She was in Journalism. I went with her around the campus, saw what she did with OKSTATE TV and I loved it.  Back then, I thought fell out of love with the game of basketball, but honestly, I missed it at this point. When I was around OKSTATE TV, shadowing my mentor with different  projects, I loved it and knew this was my passion because I was around the game again.”

What challenges did you face during your journey to success, and how did you overcome them? 

I still face challenges and I am nowhere I want to be in my career.  I’ve set the bar high for myself. I am in a male-dominated in the industry but I came to break stereotypes. I have the vision to look past temporary things. God allowed me to go through challenges because He was preparing me for what I was becoming and where I am going.”

What advice would you give to Black Women who are pursuing this profession? 

“My biggest advice to a black woman pursuing this profession is to go for it. Don’t let anyone tell you can’t do anything. Let your light shine. Make connections, go to networking events, talk to everyone you get to the chance to talk to! Keep smiling and don’t give up because I promise you its all worth it in the end, we are in this together!”

If you would like to follow or connect with Bailey Overstreet you can follow her on Instagram @baileyoverstreet_.

Leave a comment